Area 475,440 Km2
Population 22.544 Millions
HDI Rank 150 (over 186 countries)
Capital City Yaoundé (population: 1.73 million). Douala is Cameroon's largest city (population 2.05 million. UN estimates).
Demographic distribution Cameroon Highlanders 31%, Equatorial Bantu 19%, Kirdi 11%, Fulani 10%, Northwestern Bantu 8%, Eastern Nigritic 7%, other African 13%, non-African less than 1%
Spoken languages French and English are the official languages. There are about 250 different African languages spoken in Cameroon and a similar number of ethnic groups. Pidgin English is widely spoken especially in the North-West, South-West, West and Littoral provinces.
Religious beliefs Christian, Muslim and indigenous African religions
Political regime Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (CPDM), Social Democratic Front (SDF), Union des Populations du Cameroun (UPC), National Union of Democracy and Progress (UNDP), the Cameroon Democratic Union (UDC)
Head of State Paul Biya (President), Philémon Yang (Prime Minister)
Associations with International Organisations African Development Bank (AfDB), African Union (AU), Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC), Commonwealth, International Organisation of the Francophonie (OIF), Economic Community of Central African States (CEEAC), International Monetary Fund (IMF), United Nations (UN).
Investment Promotion Agency Cellule de Gestion du Code des Investissements (CGCI)
Sources: Foreign & Commonwealth Office, The World Factbook