Area 245,860 Km2
Population 11.403 Millions
HDI Rank 178 (over 186 countries)
Capital City Conakry Conakry
Demographic distribution Peuhl 40%, Malinke 30%, Soussou 20%, smaller ethnic groups 10%
Spoken languages The main ethnic groups in Guinea are the Peulh, the Malinke and the Susu (Soussou). The south-eastern forest region is inhabited by the Kissi, Loma and Kpelle peoples. French is the official language
Religious beliefs Muslim, Christian and traditional beliefs.
Political regime The main political parties are: Rassemblement de Peuple de Guinee (RPG) (the party of the President); Union des Forces Democratiques de Guinee (UFDG); Parti de l’Espoir pour le Developpement National (PEDN); Union des Forces du Changement (UFC); Union des Forces Republicaines (UFR).
Head of State Alpha Condé (President), Mohamed Said Fofana (Prime Minister)
Associations with International Organisations United Nations (UN), African Union (AU), Organisation of the Islamic Conference (OIC), Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), African Development Bank (AFDB), Mano River Union (MRU).
Investment Promotion Agency Agence de Promotion des Investissements Privés
Sources: Foreign & Commonwealth Office, The World Factbook