Area 1,104,300 Km2
Population 90.982 Millions
HDI Rank 173 (over 186 countries)
Capital City Addis Ababa
Demographic distribution Oromo 34.49%, Amhara 26.89%, Southern peoples and nationalities (Gurage Sidama/Walaita/Others) 8.85%, Somali 6.20%, Tigray 6.07%, Others (combined smaller ethnic groups) 17.5%
Spoken languages Amharic, Tigrinya, Afan Oromo, Southern languages (eg Guragigna, Sidaminga), Somali, Arabic, other local dialects and English (the major foreign language taught in schools)
Religious beliefs Orthodox Christianity 40.5%, Protestant 19.6%, Islam 35.4%, traditional 3.1%; Catholic 0.8%; others 0.7% (based on the 2007 census)
Political regime The government is run by the Ethiopian Peoples' Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF), an alliance between four parties - the Tigray People's Liberation Front (TPLF), the Amhara National Democratic Movement (ANDM), the Oromo People's Democratic Organisation (OPDO) and the Southern Ethiopian Peoples' Democratic Movement (SEPDM) - along with six other smaller affiliated ethnic parties. The largest opposition movement is the coalition known as the Ethiopian Federal Democratic Unity Forum (Medrek in Amharic) which comprises the Oromo Federalist Congress, Arena Tigray, the Unity for Democracy and Justice Party, the South Ethiopia Peoples' Democratic Coalition and the Ethiopian Social Democratic Party. Other major opposition parties include the Ethiopian Democratic Party and the All Ethiopian Unity Party.
Head of State Mulatu Teshome (President), Hailemariam Desalegn (Prime Minister)
Associations with International Organisations United Nations, African Union (AU), Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).
Investment Promotion Agency Ethiopia Investment Agency
Sources: Foreign & Commonwealth Office, The World Factbook